Tuesday, March 28

Aasif Sheikh wins ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal National Cricket Team and Nepal APF Club’s Wicketkeeper Aaasif Sheikh won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022.

Aasif was picked up for the award for his decision not to run out Irish star Andy McBrine in the Quadrangular series in Oman on 14 February 2022.

In the 3rd ball of the 19th over, bowled by Kamal Singh Airee, Mark Adair went for a big shot. However, the ball stroked his leg and dropped towards the leg side. While attempting to retrieve the ball, Kamal collided with non-striker Andy McBrine. The Irish batter then tripped and fell halfway on the pitch.

Kamal quickly picked up the ball and threw it to Aasif. McBrine was quite far from his crease. However, Aasif decided not to whip the bails off which won him the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022. With the award, Aasif Sheikh became the first Nepali player to win the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

The ICC Spirit of Cricket Award is annually awarded by the ICC to recognize the player or team upholding the spirit of the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *