Sunday, August 14

Arahant and Amrit through semis

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Amir Blon and Deepak Thapa along with Arahant Keshar Singh and Amrit Thapa Magar have entered the semi-finals of the 4th Dhanalaxmi Memorial National Squash Tournament under men’s open.

Arahant booked his spot in the last four by winning twice at the squash court in Satdobato on Wednesday. Arahant defeated Avan Shrestha in straight sets of 3-0 in the pre-quarterfinals and easily defeated Gopal Thapa in the quarterfinals by 11-7, 11-5, and 11-9.

In the other match, Amrit defeated Divya Bajracharya in straight sets by 11-4, 11-5, and 11-9. Similarly, Amir Blon defeated Rajendra Shakya by 9-11, 11-9 11-5, and 11-5 to reach the semi-finals, while Deepak Thapa defeated Umit Shakya by 11-3, 11-9 5-11, and 12-10 to book the spot in the semis. Arahant and Amir will face each other in the first semi-final whereas Amrit and Deepak will compete in the second. Winners from each semi-final will be qualified for the finale.

In women’s singles, Bipana Blon defeated Asmita Nagarkoti in straight sets by 11-2, 11-3, and 11-4. Bipana won two matches of Group ‘B’ while Bhawana Sunuwar won a match. Bipana defeated Bhawana in straight sets by 11-4, 11-3, and 11-4 to register her second victory. Asmita lost both the matches.

Meanwhile, in Group A, Krishna Thapa got a walkover from Salini Ghimire. Krishna had earlier defeated Swasthani Shrestha in a competitive set of 3-2. Swasthani also got her walkover from Salini Ghimire.

In the Junior Boys Open, Bikash Magar defeated Avan Shrestha, Pasang Lama defeated Chetan Pariyar, Gopal Thapa trashed Rakesh Pariyar in straight sets, and Salim overcame Rohan Nepal in straight sets to qualify for the semifinals.

In Master Open Men’s Over 50, Sudip Singh and Prajwal Pradhan have entered the semifinals. Sudip defeated Bidur Dhamala and Prajwal defeated Manoj Bahadur Shrestha in straight sets.

The tournament is being organized by the Nepal Squash Rackets Association (NSRA) in memory of the late Dhanalaxmi Maharjan, the mother of the Association’s president Kishore Maharjan. The tournament consists of 5 categories that include men’s open, women’s open, master’s open men above 50 years, junior boys open, and plate.

The winner of men’s singles will be rewarded with Rs. 25,000 and a shield while the runner-up will get Rs. 15,000 and two-second runners-ups will get Rs. 10,000 each. Likewise, the winner of the women’s singles will be rewarded with Rs. 20,000 and a shield while the second will purse Rs. 10,000 and the two-second runner-ups will get 5,000 each. Furthermore, the Boys’ winner will receive Rs. 10,000.

Maharjan informed that juniors will be rewarded with Rs. 500 add-ons for every game they win to encourage them. Similarly, the association will arrange special training for the best junior players of the tournament. The winner of the Masters Open Men’s Over 50 and Plate Championship will receive a trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *