Sunday, August 14

Arahant and Amrit through the finals

By a Staff Reporter

Arahant Keshar Singh and Amrit Thapa Magar made it through the finals of the 4th Dhana Laxmi Memorial National Squash tournament under the men’s open category.

Arahant and Amrit defeated Amir Blon and Dipak Thapa respectively in straight sets in the semifinal on Friday at Squash Court in Satdobato. In a non-competitive match, Arahant won by 11-5, 11-2, and 11-6 whereas Amrit won by 11-2, 11-4, and 11-6. Arahant and Amrit faced each other in the finals of the Olympics Day National Squash tournament last month where Arahant bagged the title.    

Similarly, in women’s open, Krishna Thapa and Bipana Blon will vie for the title. These two also faced each other in the finals of the Olympics Day National Squash tournament.

Bipana defeated Swasthani Shrestha in a straight set of 11-9, 11-9, and 13-11 to qualify for the finals. Likewise, Krishna sent off Bhawana Sunuwar in a straight set of 11-8, 11-4, and 11-4 to book her spot in the finals.

In the Junior Boys Open, Bikas Magar defeated Pasang Lama in a set of 3-1. On the other hand, Gopal Thapa defeated Salim Thapa in straight sets to reach the finals.

Prajwal Prakash Pradan and Sudiv Singh found their way to finals on the masters over 50 finals defeating Dhir Pun and Dilip Adhikari respectively. Moreover, Raj Maharjan and Prayag Joshi have entered the finals of the Plate Championship.

The finals of all 5 categories will be held on Saturday. The tournament is being organized by the Nepal Squash Rackets Association (NSRA) in memory of the late Dhanalaxmi Maharjan, the mother of the Association’s president Kishore Maharjan. The tournament consists of 5 categories that include men’s open, women’s open, master’s open men above 50 years, junior boys open, and plate.

The winner of men’s singles will be rewarded with Rs. 25,000 and a shield while the runner-up will get Rs. 15,000 and two-second runners-ups will get Rs. 10,000 each. Likewise, the winner of the women’s singles will be rewarded with Rs. 20,000 and a shield while the second will purse Rs. 10,000 and the two-second runner-ups will get 5,000 each. Furthermore, the Boys’ winner will receive Rs. 10,000.

Maharjan informed that juniors will be rewarded with Rs. 500 add-ons for every game they win to encourage them. Similarly, the association will arrange special training for the best junior players of the tournament. The winner of the Masters Open Men’s Over 50 and Plate Championship will receive a trophy.   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *