Thursday, May 26

Army, Police in same group of PM Cup T20 Championship

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Two strong teams of domestic cricket – Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal Police Club – have been drawn in the same group of PM Cup National T20 Cricket Championship. The PM Cup will be held at TU Cricket Ground and Mulpani Ground from January 10 to 19.

Defending champions Army have been drawn in Group A against Police, Karnali Province, Sudur Paschim Province and Province 1. Similarly, Group B consists of Nepal APF Club, Province 2, Bagmati Province, Lumbini Province and Gandaki Province.

Holders Army will face Karnali Province in the opening match of the PM Cup. APF will lock horns with Province 2 in the second match at TU Ground on the inaugural day. On the same day, Police will compete against Sudur Paschim at Mulpani Cricket Ground. Both the semifinals will be held on January 18 and the final is slated for January 19.

In previous years, the PM Cup used to be held in One-Day format. But this year, Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) is organizing the PM Cup in T20 format as a tune-up for Nepal’s participation in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup Global Qualifiers to be held in Oman in February. A national-level T20 championship is being held in Nepal for the first time in 7 years. Prior to this edition, all four previous editions of PM Cup were held in One-Day format.

Match Schedule

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *