Wednesday, August 4

Kathmandu RayZRs crowned Nepal Super League champions

Kathmandu RayZRs Football Club has won the title of inaugural season of Nepal Super League after beating Dhangadhi Football Club by 1-0 in the final played at Dasarath Stadium on Saturday.

Messouke Olomou’s first half strike proved decisive as the capital outfit kept the title in home soil. Kathmandu had lost previous two encounters against Dhangadhi but top scorer Messouke’s goal was the difference in title showdown. Kathmandu bagged Rs. 35 lakhs along with the trophy while Runners Up Dhangadhi settled for Rs. 15 lakhs.

Bishwash Shrestha of Kathmandu RayZRs was adjudged emerging player of the tournament with his coach Balgopal Maharjan awarded with best coach. Anjan Bista of Lalitpur City FC won the best forward. Dhangadhi FC’s skipper Kiran Chemjong and Dinesh Rajbanshi won best goalkeeper and defense award respectively. Messouke was awarded with best midfielder award.

The first season saw seven teams battle for the title in closed doors match. Nepal Sports and Event Management in coordination with All Nepal Football Association and National Sports Council organized the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *