Sunday, August 14

Rugby team flying towards Jakarta

By a Staff Reporter

A squad of 12 players and 6 officials will fly towards Indonesia to participate in the Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy on Thursday.

Alisa Thapa (Captain), Srijan Rai (Vice Captain), Panchmaya Shrestha, Savitri Purja, Sabina Maharjan, Nani Tamang, Sujina Gurung, Manisha Thapa Magar, Apsara Karki, Bishaka Rai, Sarmila Rai, and Apana Paudel are the players traveling to compete in the tournament.

Binod Tamang is the coach of the team. Binu Khadka is the team manager whereas Laxman Adhikari has been given the responsibility of physiotherapist. Taisuke Miao and Kamana Giri will travel with the team as an officials.

Nepal, India, Indonesia, Singapore, UAE, Mongolia, and Guam will vie for the trophy in the two days tournament to be held at JGBH Rugby Pitch in Jakarta from August 6.

Nepal women’s team which trained under Japanese coach Katsuhisa Furuchi for 2 weeks is about to participate in Asia Rugby for the fourth time. Earlier, Nepal participated in the editions held in India, Laos, and Brunei.

Nepal Sports Council (NSC) member-secretary Tanklal Ghising, General Secretary of Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) Nilendraraj Shrestha, member of NSC Prakash Kumar Kusari, Acting President of Nepal Rugby Union Deepak Devkota, and others bade farewell to the team on Wednesday amidst a program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *